A Sign Unsigned

Literary, Visual, Performing…ARTS!

Oh how I could spend a day – counting every single solitary way – to qualify and quantify the honesty of art – watching every person play their own part – inside and outside – upside and downside – exploding the essence of boxes and frames – screaming their truths until we all know their names – and yet some expressions go completely unsigned – like this poem found on High Street – which needn’t even rhyme – eternal gratitude sent into the ether – for the unnamed hero who touched this lone creature – on a day when my head was buried in my hands – and I was sure that no one could understand – then there it was right on my path – this poem, such words, even made me laugh – a stranger had reminded me the power of affirmation – even when it requires a little extra concentration.

Love, Angel


And so the poem went:

“I AM

I AM CAPABLE
OF ACCEPTING…
AND CELEBRATING
THE DIFFERENCES
IN HUMAN BEINGS—

I CAN LOVE
THE BLACKNESS OF SKIN
THE BLUENESS OF EYES
AND THE FRAGILE SMILE
GIVEN BY ONE
WHEN HE DOESN’T KNOW
WHAT TO DO

I CAN SHOW FEAR
KINDNESS
HONESTY AND CARE

I AM A WHOLE UNIVERSE
AND
I LIVE IN THE BEAUTIFUL
PRESENCE OF YOURS”

Leave a Reply

